Skip to main content

Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Award

ChannaDeSilva2024 Winner Channa De Silva


The Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Award encourages, recognizes, and rewards superior teaching and meritorious performance. Teaching faculty in their third year of service at WCU are eligible for nomination if they have not received this award in the preceding five years. The award amount is $5,000 per year and is given out annually. Students and faculty may nominate finalist as a part of WCU's integrated awards system that occurs every January. Committee procedures, policies and members can be viewed via SharePoint.

Previous Winners

2023 Katie Zejdlik-Passalacqa      2022 Brian Gastle 2021 Cyndy Caravelis
2020 Erin Callahan 2019 Alvin Malesky 2018 Windy Gordon
2017 Jen Schiff  2016 Sudhir Kaul  2015 Risto Atanasov 
2014 Kelly Nelson Tracy 2013 Hollye Moss  2012 Wesley Stone
2011 Alexander Macaulay 2010 Elizabeth "Libby" G. McRae  2009 Laura Wright
2008 Burton R. Ogle 2007 Tracy Zontek 2006 James Scifers
2005 Laura Cruz 2004 Gibbs Knotts 2003 Mary Catherine Fenton 
2002 Terry R. Nienhuis 2001 Kathy Ivey  2000 Marsha L. Holmes


For additional information on the Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Award please visit SharePoint or call the Coulter Faculty Commons at 828.227.7196.

Office of Web Services