Skip to main content


The WCU Alumni Association strives to support and further the ideals of the university. A strong alumni association strengthens university programs, and helps attract and retain high-achieving students.

Alumni Engagement Staff

The Office of Alumni Engagement at Western Carolina University is a constituent member of the Chancellor's Division.

Meet our staff

Alumni Association Board of Directors

The Alumni Association holds elections for membership to the Board of Directors at the end of every year. The WCU Alumni Association has more than 70,000 members, and all alumni are eligible and encouraged to vote in each district election. See the current board of directors

Alumni Association President

Read a message from our president and a message from our president-elect.

Past Presidents

Edwin Holland 2018-2020
Robin Parton Pate; 2016-2018
Frances Owle-Smith; 2014-2016
Jack Hudson; 2012-2014
Betty Jo Allen; 2010-2012

David Andrew; 2007-2010

Billy Cooper; 2005-2007
Eric Powell; 2003-2005
Laura Leatherwood; 2001-2003

Duane Reid; 1999-2001
Kenny Messer; 1997-1999

Phil Walker; 1996-1997
Dave Fowler; 1994-1996
Joe Grooms; 1992-1994

Kathy Abbott-Beam; 1990-1992

Bill Dodgen; 1989-1990

George Hood; 1988-1989

Max Hopper; 1987-1988
Charlie McConnell; 1986-1987

Alden McCracken; 1985-1986
Gwyn Smith; 1984-1985
William "Mace" Brown; 1983-1984
Lowell "Tom" Williams; 1982-1983
Jim Hallman; 1981-1982
Jim Causby; 1980-1981

Van Stayton; 1979-1980
W. Clyde Pressley; 1978-1979
William "Bill" Forsyth; 1977-1978
Chet Gatlin; 1975-1977
Keith Hundley; 1974-1975
Glenn Fuqua; 1973-1974 
Ralph Dean; 1972-1973
William "Bill" Upchurch; 1971-1972
Gerald Lewis; 1970-1971

Ron Huber; 1969-1970

C. Edwin Allman; 1968-1969 
LD "Luke"  Hyde; 1967-1968

William "Pop" Goodson;1966-1967
William Swift; 1965-1966
Robert "Ott" Byrd; 1964-1965 
C. Wayne Bradburn; 1963-1964
Grady Galloway; 1962-1963
Thomas Woodard; 1961-1962
Oliven  Cowan; 1960-1961

Ralph Smith; 1959-1960
Clair "Ike" Olson; 1958-1959
Tom Mallonee; 1952-1958

Office of Web Services