Skip to main content

English Faculty

From award-winning poets and technical writers to novelists and scholars who publish on literature from the Middle Ages to the 21st century, members of the WCU English faculty have practiced the art of writing in both professional and academic settings. They bring a wealth of scholastic, corporate, and organizational experiences to the classroom and encourage students to think critically, communicate effectively, and make the connection between their studies and their professional aspirations.

Annette Debo


Department Head

Michael Boatright

Associate Professor

Director of English Education

Jonathan Bradshaw

Associate Professor

Director of Graduate Programs

Miranda Miller

Associate Instructor

Ron Rash

Parris Distinguished Professor in Appalachian Cultural Studies

Travis Rountree

Assistant Professor

Director of Writing, Rhetoric, and Critical Studies Program

Drew Virtue

Associate Professor

Assistant Department Head


Administrative Staff
Rachael H. Currie Administrative Support Specialist


Emeriti Faculty

Elizabeth Addison

James Addison

Marsha Lee Baker

James E. Byer

R. Stephen Eberly

Mimi Fenton

Elizabeth Heffelfinger

William R. Higgins

M. Marilyn Jody

Nancy Joyner

Gayle Miller

Terry Neinhuis

J. Karl Nicholas

James R. Nicholl

Office of Web Services